Local Conservation Competitions

FWAG Woodpecker Trophy

Award winners have to demonstrate a commitment to species and habitat conservation, whilst also showing how they integrate environmental management into their business. Consideration will be given to resource protection, carbon footprint and sustainable food production.

The judges assess:

  • The Environmental measures and why
  • Habitats retained/enhanced/created
  • Management including soil, water and nutrient plans
  • Resulting benefits to wildlife
  • Monitoring or outcome driven aims

Past winners

2020 Postponed due to Covid-19

2019 Rory and Rufus Clarke, Cinder Hill Farm

2018 Edward Tupper, Littleton Farm

2017 Bill Forse, Barnham Court Farms

2016 Stuart West, Upper Bevendean Farm

2015 Dominic Gardner, Lee Farm

2014 Annie Brown, Truleigh Hill

Rory and Rufus Clarke receive the Woodpecker Trophy at the South of England Show 2019

FWAG Emsden Trophy

The Emsden Trophy was given to Kent FWAG by the CLA in 1986 in memory of CLA Regional Secretary Brian Emsden, who did much to establish FWAG in Kent by raising funds for the group to employ its first adviser. The trophy is now awarded at a summer walk hosted by the CLA on the previous year’s winning farm.

Award winners will have shown an ‘outstanding contribution to conservation in the county of Kent’. In its long history the Trophy has been won by many individuals and even organisations, but only ever twice by the same person – Peter Hall in 1999 and 2016. In several recent years it has been won by a farm with a fruit or fresh produce enterprise.

Past winners

2022 Fidelity Weston

2021 Laurence J Betts Ltd

2019 Hugh Lowe Farms

2018 B R Brooks & Son

2017 Peter Lingham & Plantlife

2016 Peter Hall

2015 Charrington Fruit Farms

2014 H W Twyman

The 2017 Emsden winners host a farm walk



FWAG South East LLP
Registered in England and Wales. Company number OC415533